What If: I Could Chat With Anyone, Anywhere

I love what if questions! It lets my imagination soar till there’s no longer an if and you feel like it’s happening. On a completely unrelated but related note Twitter is great, right? You can legally stalk celebs and RT them and tweet them and squeal like there’s no tomorrow if they ACTUALLY tweet back (“OMG you acknowledge my existence! You know how much I love you”)… and if they follow you back, you instantly take a screenshot and put in a folder labelled Positive Strokes! so that you can grin about it for the rest of your life! Right? RIGHT?

Of course the stakes would be higher and the situation would be even more squeal-worthy; my heart thuds just IMAGINING it if THIS were the what if situation:

What if you could connect with 5 or more people in a WeChat group?

Emoticon response to the What If

I recently downloaded the WeChat App for my iPad and LOVE how easy it is to connect with people from my address book via audio, video, photo and text mediums! And the emoticons: some of them LITERALLY jump out at you. I would probably (but hopefully not) scare off the chosen five six people with too many of them! For instance,

Fun Emoticons on WeChat

Hi ^_^

So a WeChat group would accommodate my incessant squealing (in audio!), emoticons that describe responses I cannot put to words *looks above*, quick photos taken on the go and ALMOST face-to-face wholesome conversations with a video chat segment! Who are the unlucky six that would make it to my Dream WeChat group?

1. JK Rowling: Because she made my childhood what it was with the Harry Potter series! She’s also such a humble, giving, respectable and compassionate person. I would want to thank her for the difference she’s made in my life. She taught me about the power of love and sacrifice, brought magic into my life with Hogwarts, set a great example about what friendship was all about and made me want to read more and write more!

I would want to ask her more about the moments when she was writing the first Harry Potter book, before it became such a gigantic bestseller… about what made her keep writing, if she knew Harry Potter was it and what makes her continue writing now. Why won’t she write another Potter book based on The Marauders? Is she truly done with Potter? What does she think it takes to churn out a bestseller that captures the world’s imagination?

JK Rowling- Dream WeChat Convo With

Me to JK Rowling: WeChat after all this time? Dream Response: Always. ❤

2. Holden Caulfield: When I was fifteen and an angstier version of me, I read The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger. Though most people find Holden, the protagonist of this coming of age story, to be annoying, I could really connect with his thought processes that really came alive in the stream-of-consciousness writing style. I could relate to wanting to run away from everything and switching it up with a couple of days in NYC (who wouldn’t, right?) and the succeeding themes of innocence tore me up.

After reading the book, I wished Holden was a terribly good friend of mine who I could call up and just hang out with. Underneath everything, his dislike for “phonies” included, he was a thoughtful and intelligent boy (who was pretty good looking <3). I’d love to have a conversation with him about everyday things like life, homework, college or whatever just to get that classic teenager’s viewpoint, you know? And I wonder what he’d think about Harry Potter and what he would have to say to JKR as well.

3. Barney Stinson from the TV series How I Met Your Mother: Because he is LEGEN-WAIT FOR IT- DARY! Because his laws of life are out of this world 😉 He’d totally keep the conversation going, probably get a little bored ’cause the group chat is mostly full of dudes but not leave without sprinkling it with Barneyisms akin to the ALWAYS uplifting: “Whenever I’m sad, I just stop being sad and be awesome instead!”

WeChat: Response to Barneyisms

Automatic response to Barneyisms (:

4. Varun Agarwal of How I Braved Anu Aunty And Co-Founded A Million Dollar Company fame! Because braving the Anu aunties is a big deal in India and having taken up an unconventional (by Indian standards) course, I’m still fighting that battle! His life tips would totally complement the Barneyisms and I’m sure Holden and I would benefit, at the least 😉

5. Anne Frank: Because she was a smart girl, so full of life and hopes and dreams who died too young. Does she know her diary is read by people all over the world now? And that it’s positively inspirational? Is she okay with that (people reading her diary)? I’m sure we would have a lot to ask her, and she would have a lot to ask everybody else.

6. The Sorting Hat: That’s allowed, right? The Sorting Hat from Harry Potter can talk and everything so… I’m sure we’d all like to know which house we belong to! And more about the maker of the Hat, what sort of spells and charms were used on him and if he’d think up of a Sorting song just for the chat! We’d give him one year’s notice and everything.
WeChat with the Sorting Hat
SORTING HAT: I’ll eat myself if you can find a smarter hat than me.
Dream Audio-Response from Barney Stinson: Challenge… ACCEPTED 😀
Seven (yours truly included) people from different walks of life. One epic group chat!
We’d talk about life and death and muggle hopes and dreams! There will be Sorting, witticisms, lifeisms, laughs, never-before-asked questions, thoughts on events that happened before/after their time and more! It will be your everyday conversation with six extraordinary people: a group chat I will definitely take a zillion screenshots of and save in my FAQ and NBAQ (never-before-asked-questions) For LIFE folder! Giving a literal meaning to WeChat’s contest tagline:
WeChat with Anyone, Anywhere!
NOTE: Emoticon screenshots taken courtesy some of my conversations on WeChat
This post is a contest entry to an IndiBlogger contest by WeChat! To view WeChatIndia’s YouTube channel: click here 🙂
7 Comments

  1. I just loved your entry!!! 🙂 Interesting choice of characters… ^_^ I am seriously so glad that you stumbled across my blog today.

    I love Barney Stinson and J K Rowling…and I loved how you imagined the conversation going on between the five people. 😀

  2. My my, look what we have got here! A biggie Potterite. :^_^

    I liked your choices particuarly Anne Frank and Sorting Hat. And the way you let them converse with each is also so creative of you.

    Phew, I am just jumping with joy at having discovered a HP fan almost as big as me, though not quite as big as me (^-^)

    Oh btw, I am from Ravenclaw ^_^

Leave a Reply

