lookingback.

It’s been a year.

Soon it’ll be years.

I think about it smiling sadly, nostalgically, regretfully.

It’s all like we feared-

Losing touch, getting bored, moving on.

Everything our innocent, delusional selves

Thought would never happen.

At least, that’s what we voiced aloud.

Last year, we had things

Traditions

Corny, but it meant something.

But now everything’s uncertain,

I don’t know you

You don’t know me.

Am I the only one who cares?

Maybe, but I was the one who broke away

Too shy, too inhibited to stay remembered.

Too hasty, too insecure, too vague

Yet too proud, too aloof, too considerate.

Too tired, too sorry, too confused,

While you found yourselves

And with your new life, diffused-

My own self-fulfilled prophecy in the making;

At least you got to know you.

I still don’t know me.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

